2018 Western Australian of the Year Awards

Western Australian of the Year Awards

1 June 2018

The 2018 Western Australian of the Year Awards recognise and celebrate outstanding contribution to our state by those born and bred in Western Australia, or those who have chosen to make Western Australia their home.

The Awards celebrate excellence in business leadership, social entrepreneurship and innovation; improving the profile of WA arts and culture; inspirational role models in the Aboriginal community; positive social, scientific and economic impact; achievement in sport; and improving the lives of young Western Australians and the community as a whole.

Woodside is once again proudly sponsoring the Arts and Culture Award. Other categories include Aboriginal, Business, Community, Professions, Sport, and Youth.​


Marcus Canning, winner of the 2017 Western Australian of the Year Arts and Culture Award, pictured with Sandra McInnes, Woodside VP Corporate Affairs

Nominate ​by 16 February

The nominations for the 2018 Western Australian of the Year Awards are now open with everyone in our community being asked to put forward someone they believe to be worthy of this prestigious honour.

The simple online nomination process should only take 5 - 10 minutes to complete and requires the category their nominee best represents; a brief summary of why they are deserving of the Award; and an outline of their contribution to the community.

​To nominate a person you believe makes Western Australia a better place to live.

  1. Visit the Western Australia of the Year website​.

  2. Select the relevant category.

  3. Enter the nomination form including why this nominee should win and demonstrated contribution to our community (max 200 words for each section).

  4. Submit your nomination.

There are 7 award categories they can enter: Aboriginal, Arts & Culture, Business, Community, Professions, Sport and Youth.

Please visit the Western Australian of The Year website for more details, and to create a nomination.