West Australian Ballet - Don Quixote

​Don Quixote

11- 27 May 2017

His Majesty's Theatre, Perth

West-Ausralian-Ballet-Don-Quixote.jpg 

First premiered by WAB in 2010, we’re thrilled to bring this sumptuous production of Don Quixote, choreographed by Australia’s ‘Grande Dame’ of ballet, Lucette Aldous, back to His Majesty’s stage.

This seminal ballet will be restaged for the Company by Lucette Aldous, who, as Kitri, partnered Nureyev, Basilio, to national and international acclaim in the 1970’s.

Based on episodes from Cervante’s classic novel, Don Quixote was originally created by the greatest of all ballet masters, Marius Petipa. The plot follows delusional Don Quixote and his sidekick Sancho Panza, who set out on an adventure to find Don Quixote’s imaginary lost love Dulcinea.

The stunning sets and costumes have been created by Australian designer, Allan Lees whose work has graced stages throughout the world. The West Australian Symphony Orchestra will bring the lively score to life in a production which is sure to delight all ages.

Approximate running time 2 hours 10 minutes.

 

 

Credits

Choreographer: Lucette Aldous after Marius Petipa

Sets & Costumes: Allan Lees OAM

Lighting designer: Jon Buswell

Re-staging: Sandy Delasalle-Scannella, Craig Lord-Sole, Cédric Ygnace

Composer: Ludwig Minkus

Arranger: John Lanchbery

Conductor: Judith Yan

with West Australian Symphony Orchestra

Dates and times:

Thursday 11 May, 7:30pm
Friday 12 May, 7:30pm
Saturday 13 May, 7:30pm
Tuesday 16 May, 6:30pm
Thursday 18 May, 7:30pm
Friday 19 May, 7:30pm
Saturday 20 May, 2:00pm
Saturday 20 May, 7:30pm
Wednesday 24 May, 6:30pm
Thursday 25 May, 7:30pm
Friday 26 May, 7:30pm
Saturday 27 May, 2:00pm
Saturday 27 May, 7:30pm

To purchase your tickets, please visit the WA Ballet website.